The Rochester Academy of Medicine advances learning, encourages service, and initiates collaboration in the communities we serve.


Academy Awards 

The Rochester Academy of Medicine, founded in 1900, presented its annual honors in May  to a diverse group of recipients.  The award ceremony is held at the Academy’s historic home at 1441 East Avenue, beginning at 6 p.m.  in May of each year. The award recipients represent our community’s outstanding advocates and healthcare professionals.

“This is an evening to salute a broad range of accomplishment in medicine and health care,” said past Academy Board Chair Jeff Dmochowski, M.D. “The event honors decades of outstanding service to the medical profession and our community.

”The Distinguished Service Award is given to three to five individuals in recognition of outstanding service to the medical profession or the community."

Kaiser Medal 

The Kaiser Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the Academy. It is awarded to one physician who exemplifies outstanding professional and personal qualities and lifetime service in areas of medicine, public health and/or community welfare. Named for its first recipient, the Kaiser Medal represents lifetime achievement and recognition of national and, even, international contributions to medicine. The Kaiser Medal has been presented annually since 1939.

Interested in nominating someone for the Kaiser Medal? 

Please email your nominations to Lydia at  Your nomination should include the name of the nominee, and personal qualities and key health care achievements that are distinctive to the nominee. The nominee does not need to have received a Distinguished Service Award to be eligible.

Deadline:  Monday, March 5, 2018 at 9:00AM


Rick Constantino, MD

Distinguished Service Awards

The Academy will also award a total of 4 Distinguished Service Awards, each in a different category. You may submit nominations for the following:

1) An individual in any healthcare discipline

2) A healthcare team

3) An early career healthcare provider in any discipline

4) A leader in community service (may be an individual outside of healthcare).

Please email your nominations to Lydia at  Your nomination should include the name of the nominee, and personal qualities and key health care achievements that are distinctive to the nominee.

Deadline:  Monday, March 5, 2018 at 9:00AM

2017 Distinguished Service Award

Madeline H. Schmitt PhD, RN, FAAN, FNAP
Unity Physician Assistant Surgery Team 
Jeffrey R. Andolina MD, MS
Allison O'Malley

2017 Dr. Lemuel Rogers Scholarship Award

Amanda A. Onalaja, MD Candidate 

Prize Awards

The Rochester Academy of Medicine is excited to announce the return of the prize awards. Those studying in the diverse fields of healthcare and those who have graduated within the past five years from their professional degree are welcome to submit papers for the 2018 Prize Awards. The prize awards are given for a scholarly writings including those that have been submitted or accepted for publication in peer-reviewed journals. The three awards available this year are the following:

Interprofessional Recognition Prize:  The authors for this paper must be interprofessional which is defined by when two or more disciplines, learn together, work together and provide care together. The paper could be clinically or research focused and demonstrate the benefits of interprofessional collaboration. 

Kluge Trauma & Emergency Medical Services Prize:   This award is given for the best paper pertaining to trauma and emergency medical services. 

Geriatrics Prize: This award is given in honor of Carter and T. Franklin Williams and is for the best paper on geriatric healthcare which combines medical and social issues. 

Current Healthcare Crisis Prize: This award this given for the best paper pertaining to community/public health and/or preventive medicine. Recognizing Dr. Berg’s contribution to our community’s health, papers that deal with projects that have improved the health of our community are encouraged. 

The awards and the $500 stipend will be presented during the Academy’s Annual Meeting. Prize recipients are expected to submit a short summary of their papers for the Annual Meeting. 

Rules for Submission

Each submission must be submitted electronically to as a pdf. The only identifying information on the paper should be the title and the award for which you are applying for. Only one prize will be awarded in each category. Contestants are welcome to submit papers in more than one category. The names of the authors, addresses, telephone numbers and email address should be included in a separate document attached to the same email. All prize awards will be confirmed before the identifying information is shared with the committee members. 

Additional information regarding prize awards can be obtained from the Rochester Academy of Medicine by emailing Lydia Nicholson, Executive Director at

Deadline: Monday, March 5, 2018 at 9:00AM


Tel: 585-271-1314

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software